Listen To An Unreleased Elliott Smith Song, "I Figured You Out"

It's from an upcoming 20th anniversary reissue of 'Either/Or.'

By Shawn Cooke Jan 4, 2017

Earlier today, Kill Rock Stars announced a 20th anniversary reissue of Elliott Smith's Either/Or. The vinyl and CD remasters are out March 10, and include previously unreleased tracks—five live recordings and three rarities, plus a remixed/remastered version of "I Don't Think I'm Ever Gonna Figure It Out." The remaster was overseen by Larry Crane, Smith's chief archivist, who culled the live tracks from the Yo Yo A Go Go Festival in Olympia WA in 1997.

The reissue features previously unheard studio versions of "New Monkey," "Bottle Up and Explode," and "I Figured You Out"—the last of which is available to stream below. "I Figured You Out" hasn't been released as a Smith track, but he gave the song to Mary Lou Lord, who included it on her 1997 Martian Saints EP. You can check out the full tracklist of Either/Or: Expanded Edition below.

Either/Or: Expanded Edition:

01 Speed Trials (remastered)
02 Alameda (remastered)
03 Ballad of Big Nothing (remastered)
04 Between the Bars (remastered)
05 Pictures of Me (remastered)
06 No Name No. 5 (remastered)
07 Rose Parade (remastered)
08 Punch and Judy (remastered)
09 Angeles (remastered)
10 Cupid's Trick (remastered)
11 2:45 AM (remastered)
12 Say Yes (remastered)
13 My New Freedom (Live) (unreleased)
14 Pictures Of me (Live) (unreleased)
15 Angeles (Live) (unreleased)
16 Some Song (Live) (unreleased)
17 Rose Parade (Live) (unreleased)
18 New Monkey (keys) (unreleased)
19 I Don’t Think I’m Ever Gonna Figure It Out (remixed/remastered)
20 I Figured You Out (unreleased)
21 Bottle Up And Explode (Alternate Version) (unreleased)